IMG_0613

Well, recently I (Heather) have gone back to school, folks.  I’m taking a class in Mtwara at the vocational college in woodworking.  I didn’t really know what to expect when I first went, but it turns out that the main thing we are working on so far is joinery.  I mean, like old-school joinery with a handsaw, chisel, and mallet.

Needless to say, I am getting my daily workout every morning from 9am to 12pm.  It’s been refreshing to get out and away from the house for a few hours while Ross and Mariam take care of Adelaide for me.

I am enjoying the extra Kiswahili practice and the challenge of making mortise and tenon (in Kiswahili, that’s Mortisi and tenon) joints out of little scraps of wood by hand.  It’s all much more difficult than it looks, and I have a renewed affection for our Lord and Savior who was not above making the same joints by hand himself.

IMG_0614 IMG_0615

IMG_0617                            The sweet smile that greets me when I get home!
IMG_0618

Look, no glue!
IMG_0619 IMG_0620

                     You yourselves… …are being built up as a spiritual house (1 Peter 2).
IMG_0621

