Tags

Recently, I discovered a concept in children’s literacy called “five for five” which means that the teacher (or mother in this case!) will read a child five of the same books every day for five days.  This helps the child to become fluent in the story, to remember the pictures, and to anticipate or “read” the words to the book him or herself.

As Addie approaches toddlerhood, I have started reading books to her using the “five for five” method.  I like to choose very short books with rhyming, interesting language and bright, action packed pictures.  I was amazed at how quickly Addie began to grow attached to and respond to the five books of the week.  I was reminded of how much kids love and need repetition (even when we adults quickly tire of reading the same stories over and over again!).

See in the picture above, my recent favorite, Llama Llama Red Pajama, is a story about a little llama who kicks up some “llama drama” after his mother tucks him into bed for the night.  Very fun read, written in rhyming couplets, and has not grown old to me yet.

