This weekend I (Heather) went to the Global Health Care Missions Conference in Louisville, KY.  At this conference, I met missionary nurses who had been on the field for twenty years who have a passion for healthcare teaching and preventative medicine.  I met doctors who abandoned their practices and the American dream to serve the poorest of the poor.  I met a Christian man from West Africa who is evangelizing Muslim scholars.

 

My favorite speaker was a woman named Florence Muindi leads local churches in Ethiopia to empower their surrounding communities to rise out of poverty through a holistic ministry.  Ministries of the churches include primary healthcare, AIDS treatment and prevention, soccer ministry, childcare, education, parenting classes, etc.

 

Check out the story of Florence Muindi’s organization Life in Abundance International on her website:  www.liaint.org

IMG_2194

